sunskysit.blogg.se

Format wd passport for mac to ntfs
Format wd passport for mac to ntfs











format wd passport for mac to ntfs
  1. #FORMAT WD PASSPORT FOR MAC TO NTFS MAC OS#
  2. #FORMAT WD PASSPORT FOR MAC TO NTFS INSTALL#
  3. #FORMAT WD PASSPORT FOR MAC TO NTFS DRIVER#

So, I am going to reformat this problematic EXFAT drive as Mac OS Extended.įwiw, i bought a samsung drive which was already formatted in NTFS and comes with a free samsung/seagate specific NTFS for MAC driver, so i will use that when i need to travel with a tablet+drive as my only backup option. Turns out ExFAT is a disaster for other reasons. that was my original logic in going with ExFAT.

format wd passport for mac to ntfs format wd passport for mac to ntfs

ExFAT would be "safer" than something which was not natively supported i.e NTFS. Before proceeding further, it is recommended to take a backup of your important files. I have no problem using an NTFS driver, paid or free, but i mistakenly thought that something which was natively supported i.e. To format Western Digital My Passport for Mac or Windows, you can rely on in-built applications of your system to format your WD My Passport in exFAT or FAT32 format.

#FORMAT WD PASSPORT FOR MAC TO NTFS INSTALL#

You install it and forget it! (I don't work for them by the way.) Just get it, it's cheap and will save you a LOT of hassle, it just works flawlessly.

#FORMAT WD PASSPORT FOR MAC TO NTFS DRIVER#

The NTFS driver is called "NTFS for Mac OS". It will then just mount on your Mac.īest thing to do is to backup everything and reformat it as Mac OS Extended. The way around is to mount it on a windows PC and repair it there. I had lots of those problems, when I unplugged it wrongly, sometimes it would not mount. Hi Rob, yeah, i previously had NTFS for mac software, but decided to give ExFat a try so i would not need this extra software. Since at least they could be more resilient in the event of interrupted data writes.Īn option would be to get software for the Mac that allows writing to NTFS, since I think that would be safer than ExFAT, but don't take my word for it. I am no expert on filesystems, but because HFS+ (and I think NTFS) are journaled, they would be inherently safer. But this pattern of having no problems with accidental disconnect of other drives, and 2 near death experience with the ExFat makes me wonder if the ExFat is somehow more vulnerable than other formats. Fortunately, running repair a second time worked (both times), and my drive is still ok. In fact both times the disk utility's first attempt to repair failed and the disk utility told me the drive was not repairable (which caused me much anxiety). In the few months that I have used this drive, I accidentally disconnected it 2 times and BOTH times, the next mount failed (unlike my prior WD drives which had no problems remounting) and I had to use Disk Utility to repair the disk. So this is the first drive i used ExFat for. I did this b/c i was considering the need to share this drive b/t both mac and windows environments. But I never had any problems other than the warnings.īut now i have been using a 2TB passport ultra that i formatted for ExFat. The next time I plugged it in, the drive would mount fine even though there might be a warning that prior disconnect was not proper. And while the computer would raise the warning "external device not ejected properly", i never had a problem. I have been using many WD passports for years and years, with various capacities and various formats NTFS, FAT32 and MacOS Extended, and have occasionally disconnected them from a macbook without properly ejecting them (brain farts).













Format wd passport for mac to ntfs